1:5:10:365 EcoTip Blog

March 16, 2008

:076 Expansive Soils

expansive-clay-soils-usgs.jpg  Credit: USGS

Suggested Review: See 1:5:10:365 EcoTips :075, 077, :078 for more information about expansive clay soils

Welcome to today’s 1:5:10:365 Tip for becoming a better steward for our home and planet.

1:5:10:076 Tip: Over half of the United States has areas with buildings constructed over varying amounts of expansive clay soils. These soils shrink and expand based on their moisture content. Early identification of the problem can help provide less expensive solutions. Expansive clay soils cause more damage each year than earthquakes and is typically not covered by insurance. 

***********************************

Additional Information

In my book Extreme Weather Hits Home, Protecting Your Buildings From Climate Change I discuss how warmer soil temperatures are resulting in less soil moisture and greater damage from expansive clay soils.

For maps of expansive clay soil regions in the United States, and more information about this problem, go to my book blog at http://jbanta.wordpress.com and click on your state.

************************

Would you like to receive an email alert for each new 1:5:10:365 EcoTip? Sign up for a Google Alert.

1 Comment »

  1. I have visited this site on many an occasion now but this post is the 1st one that I have ever commented on.

    Congratulations on such a fine article and site I have found it very helpful and informative – I only wish that there were more out there like this one.

    I never leave empty handed, sometimes I may even be a little disappointed that I may not agree with a post or reply that has been made. But hey! that is life and if every one agreed on the same thing what a boring old world we would live in.

    Keep up the good work and cheers.

    Thanks Suzanne – I appreciate the kind thoughts. If you or anyone else would like to enter into a discussion about topics where you agree, disagree or other issues – Please feel free to post.

    I will confess – There are a some posts that I have struggled with – but posted anyway because I think they are of interest. As an example, I am not crazy about compact fluorescent lights, but posted about them anyway because it allowed me to lead into a discussion of how the fact they contain mercury, how to dispose of them and how to handle a mercury clean-up if one should break. I am watching the LED light technology very closely, and as soon as I think they have a product that won’t turn most people off because of the light quality, I will be on board and denouncing compact fluorescents.

    John Banta

    Comment by Suzanne Langley — March 16, 2008 @ 6:21 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

